Rocky Mountain Trucking LLC

Nominations are now open for the Travel Centers of America’s annual Citizen Driver awards.

TA launched the Citizen Driver program in 2013 with the intention of recognizing the professional drivers who keep America moving. Winners are chosen based on their background and involvement in initiatives including community involvement, safety, health and wellness, and leadership. 

Nominations can be made by clicking here.

As a Citizen Driver Award recipient, drivers may choose a TA, Petro or TA Express location to be dedicated in their honor. To celebrate their career and contributions, a bronze historical marker with the driver’s image and story is installed on the front of the building, and a dedication ceremony is held with dozens of their closest family and friends. By dedicating a location in their name and displaying their accomplishments at the site, TA allows the drivers’ stories to be heard by all travelers that pass through. 

RELATED NEWS: TravelCenters of America announces annual Citizen Driver Award winners

This year’s winners are Susie De Ridder of Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada and Douglas Ralph Smith of Bountiful, Utah. They were chosen from nearly 200 nominations, the professional drivers.

De Ridder chose the TA in Barstow, California to be dedicated in her name and is giving her $2,500 donation to Truckers Final Mile. Smith chose the TA in Tooele, Utah to be dedicated in his name. He will split his $2,500 donation among the following three charities: The St. Christopher Truckers Relief Fund, Tunnel to Towers, and Truckers Final Mile.